In Honour Of “The Grey” We Look Back At Some “Man Vs Beast” Movies

Let’s face it nothing will be more bad-ass in January than Liam Neeson going toe to toe with a pack of wolves, Neeson laughs in the face of Gina Carano and her martial arts, obviously The Grey is real life, just last week you could find myself in a gang fight with some of the local badgers, not The BADGERS (Bad Ass Dangerous Grizzly Emo Renegade Scousers) no not them ,just the local badgers in the woods,it was a territorial argument after I pissed on a bush.

So in honour of The Grey I want to look back at some of my favourite Man Vs Beast movies, not exactly the best ones but some that I will always remember, make sure to leave a comment below of some of your favourites:

Jaws

The most iconic shark and fish in cinema history!! I must of watched Jaws at least 20 times in my lifetime and I’ve never grew bored of it, from the score to the editing, it really is the full package. The film has become famous for it’s disastrous production which nearly sent Spielberg over the edge but Jaws will forever be an masterpiece which will scare  people right of the water for years to come

Snakes On A Plane

Oh how was I not going to mention this film, just watch the video below and you realise how glorious and hilarious this movie is,it’s a must see, don’t expect brilliance expect the carnage

Tremors

A huge flop at the cinema which became one of the most popular home movie titles of the 90’s. My uncle made me watch Tremors when I was 9 and I didn’t go near a sand pit or beach for near a year. Kevin Bacon and Fred Ward are still one of my favourite on screen duo’s they bounce off each other perfectly and come out with some of the best lines

Damn it Valentine, you never plan ahead, you never take the long view, I mean here it is Monday and I’m already thinking of Wednesday… It is Monday right?

Rise Of The Planet of The Apes

I thought I’d throw something more recent in the list seen as it is probably still fresh in everyone’s mind and personally I thought it was a huge success. On my end of year list, found here (nice and subtle plug there), I said how shocked I was to find this film so enjoyable, mainly do to the stink of being a remake hanging over it, but it ended up being one of my favourites films of 2011, I even ran out and bought the Blu-Ray and it looks great and stands up to multiple viewings. It definitely takes it’s time getting into the whole Man Vs Beast theme which is mainly the second half of the movie but of what it does there it’s definitely worth noting in this list

Jurassic Park

Another Spielberg creation that can not go unnoticed on this list is the incredible Jurassic Park. One of the my personal favourite cinema experiences ever and thank the lord it got a Blu-Ray release lately as I sat home and experienced the wonderful creation in all it’s beauty, if you have a good audio system,turn that bass up and that it flow through you.

Now the biggest question here is who would win in a fight between them all??? I’m going for Liam Neeson!!!

About Bloggers Be Crazy

Part owner of Down With Film http://www.downwithfilm.wordpress.com

Posted on January 24, 2012, in Articles and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hahaha, love this post.

    Snakes on a Plane is so, so awful but it makes me laugh. Jurassic Park is a personal favourite of mine and the CGI really does stand up so well today.

    Jaws is definitely the daddy of all man vs beast films, though!

  2. Can’t beat Tremors. Great film!

    …of course, Jaws is the Granddaddy of this genre! Nice work guys.

Leave a comment